

Heart of the South West Local Enterprise Partnership Agenda item 8

Report theme: Board rolling replacement

Author: Eifion Jones

Summary

Work will now start on agreeing the rolling replacement of private sector Board members

Recommendations

For noting

Background

The LEP Board previously agreed a rolling retirement policy for private sector members, published at https://heartofswlep.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/HotSW-LEP-Board-Director-Rolling-Replacement-Policy.pdf which states that the CEX will work with the Chair to agree timing of replacements, with 3 years being the first break point for members.

Commencement/retirement dates for each Director are attached; in the short term, private sector members have agreed to stay on past June 2020 and a retirement schedule will be developed in the next few months and brought back to F&R.



Dates when board members commenced

10 current private sector members

6 current public sector members

Attendees	Organisation		Commencement Date	Resigned/ Retired	3 year Time limit	6 year Time limit
Karl Tucker	Yeo Valley	Private	Board Director 1 June 2017 Commenced as Chair January 2020		Director June 2020 Chair Jan 2023	June 2023 Jan 2026
David Bird	Santander	Private	1 June 2017		June 2020	June 2023
Fiona McMillan	EDF Energy	Private	1 June 2017		June 2020	June 2023
Martha Wilkinson	Devon Community Foundation	Private	16 Sept 2015		*Articles only changed to 3yrs later in 2019	Sept 2021
Melanie Squires	NFU in the South West	Private	1 June 2017		June 2020	June 2023
Richard Stevens	Plymouth City Bus	Private	1 June 2017		June 2020	June 2023
Sarah Cook	Leonardo Helicopters	Private	Nov 2019		Nov 2022	Nov 2025
Stuart Brocklehurst	Applegate	Private	1 June 2017		June 2020	June 2023
John Laramy	Exeter College	Private	1 August 2019		Due to retire Dec 2020 as seeing out Diane Dimond's original Tenure, FE Colleges then need to renominate	
Judith Petts	University of Plymouth	Private	18 Feb 2016		*Articles only changed to 3yrs later in 2019	March 2022
Steve Smith	University of Exeter	Private	19 March 2014	March 2020, However as due to retire from the Uni Aug 2020, this has been extended till		



		local enterprise partnership				
				Aug 2020 when Prof Lisa Roberts will take over.		
David Hall	Somerset County Council	Public	21 July 2011			
Phil Bialyk	Exeter City Council	Public	10 July 2019		June 2021	
Rufus Gilbert	Devon County Council	Public	25 May 2018			
Steve Darling	Torbay Council	Public	June 2019			
Tudor Evans	Plymouth City Council	Public	Re- commended - 20 June 2018			
Val Keitch	South Somerset District Council	Public	17 June 2019			

As per revised Articles 2019

- FE/HE Directors for up to 3 years, can then be re-appointed up to a maximum 6 years
- Public Sector Directors hold office indefinitely
- Private Sector Directors up to 10 hold office for up to 3 years, can then be re-appointed up to maximum 6 years
- Chair can hold office up to 3 years, can then be re-appointed up to a maximum 6 years
- Private sector Co-opted Directors up to 5 maximum with specialist knowledge for a fixed term of 1 year, cannot be re-appointed, non -voting